Quick Links

Quick Links

Dinton CE

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



Teaching & Curriculum





Children spend seven years in their primary school and each age group is classified as follows:


Age        Year

4-5         Foundation Stage (reception year)

5-6         Year 1 (YR1)

6-7         Year 2 (YR2)

7-8         Year 3 (YR3)

8-9         Year 4 (YR4)

9-10       Year 5 (YR5)

10-11     Year 6 (YR6)


There are 4 classes named, in ascending order of age, Robins, PuffinsKingfishers and Eagles.

The number of pupils on roll and the number of children in each year group govern the arrangement of the classes. This can change from year to year. It is desirable to keep the Key Stages separate but it is not always possible. Class sizes are kept as balanced as possible. Within each class, pupils are taught individually, as a group, or as a whole class but always according to their needs and level of attainment.


The Curriculum


All children between the ages of 5 and 11 study the National Curriculum. Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Programme. The curriculum is enriched by a variety of themes and topics over the year. More details are on the class pages.